Time Changes Things

UnknownThis is a cute little button I wore at 22 years of age. My “salad days!” In saloons, people thought it was funny.
When I wore it at 30 – same button! – people felt uncomfortable.
So I put it away.
Then I pulled it out for a lark at 45 and it really turned people off.
All because of time and age.
Now, on the other side of 60, if I wore this I would be thought of as little more than a wino, derelict desperately in need of a drink.
Time. It changes things

I thought of this because of something Mick Jagger once famously said:

“I’d rather be dead than sing Satisfaction when I’m 45.

He had a good point.

I can’t get no satisfaction
I can’t get no girl with action
Cause I try and I try and I try and I try
I can’t get no, I can’t get no
When I’m ridin’ round the world
And I’m doin’ this and I’m signing that
And I’m tryin’ to make some girl
Who tells me baby better come back later next week
Cause you see I’m on losing streak
I can’t get no, oh no no no
Hey hey hey, that’s what I say I can’t get no,
I can’t get no I can’t get no satisfaction
No satisfaction, no satisfaction, no satisfaction

Interesting in his 20s.
Sad in his 30s.
PATHETIC at 50.
But he keeps on singing it. And now that Jagger is pushing 80… well, he had more 
wisdom in his youth.
It reads like an elderly creep’s suicide note.
Time has a certain power we ignore at our own risk.
Don’t fear it, because there is precious little we can do about it.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

